Transport Committee invites ideas for future inquiries


The Transport Committee today invites the public to suggest subjects for inquiries to take place later in the year. The Transport Committee

Topics should relate to the work of the Department for Transport or one of its related bodies, such as the Highways Agency, Maritime and Coastguard Agency or Network Rail.

The Committee Chair, Louise Ellman MP, has said: If you have an issue which you think we should look at we would like to hear from you. Please write to us, email, or submit your suggestion using our website or Twitter.

Your suggestions will be important in shaping our future work programme. Once we have decided on which inquiries to hold we will publish all of the suggestions we received and what we decided in relation to each of them.

That said, I must also emphasise that the Committee does not take up individual cases and will not look at local transport issues or specific transport projects unless they raise issues of national significance.

The Committee last invited the public to suggest inquiry ideas in March 2013. The suggestions received and the Committee's decisions about its programme were published in June 2013.

Future programme: 2013-14

Submissions should be 250 words or less and sent by e-mail to or via Twitter using @CommonsTrans

The deadline for submissions is Wednesday 5th February *NB Please note the deadline submission has been shortened


Committee Membership is as follows: Mrs Louise Ellman (Labour/Co-operative, Liverpool Riverside) (Chair); Sarah Champion (Labour, Rotherham); Jim Dobbin (Labour/Co-operative, Heywood and Middleton); Jim Fitzpatrick (Labour, Poplar and Limehouse); Karen Lumley (Conservative, Redditch); Jason McCartney (Conservative, Colne Valley); Karl McCartney (Conservative, Lincoln); Mr Adrian Sanders (Lib Dem, Torbay); Chloe Smith (Conservative, Norwich North); Graham Stringer (Labour, Blackley and Broughton); Martin Vickers (Conservative, Cleethorpes).



NewsVanessa Johns